Tom Schilperoort wins the Dunlop Duster

Successful start to Summer Surfski Series

Competitors head out of FIsh Hoek Bay.
Competitors head out of Fish Hoek Bay.

Fish Hoek – a Fresh south easterly breeze was blowing on Sunday as 135 paddlers lined up for the first race of the Cape Town Surfski series, aptly named the Dunlop Duster. A frenzied chop on the ocean’s surface was an exciting prospect for the experienced ones; while the fair sized contingent of new paddlers were nervously checking to make sure they had all the correct safety equipment on board.

Surfskis were made for ocean racing and the two- lap course, which took paddlers on a 12km route in and out of the bay, ensured that all skills would be tested, especially in the 2.5km downwind leg towards the finish line.

Local lad Tom Schilperoort raced a tactically superb race to claim a narrow victory over the seasoned international campaigner and former World Series champion, Dawid Mocke. Both these two were made to work very hard by visiting paddler from Durban, Brandon van der Walt, who would claim third place; and Graeme Solomon in fourth. The sensational junior paddler Kenny Rice, took fifth place in the Open division (as well as the Junior’s top prize). The absence of Sean Rice (ICF World Champion) and Jasper Mocke (both racing abroad) made things slightly easier for the others.

Tom Schilperoort wins the Dunlop Duster
Tom Schilperoort wins the Dunlop Duster

In the ladies division there seems to be a strong contingent of competitors coming through and here we saw Nikki Mocke walk away with the laurels while Kim van Gysen (former RSA lifesaving representative) had to hold of a strong charge from junior lady Kirsten Flanagan (a junior world silver medallist at flatwater marathon) to take second with Flanagan in third.

The Cape Town Surfski Series, powered by Vodacom, consists of eight races and the next race of the series will be held on Hout Bay beach, a favourite venue for the series.

To take part, or for more info, visit


Short Course (1 lap, 6km)

Snr Female: 1st Penny turner, 2nd Lauren Honeyman, 3rd Tarryn Sullivan

Snr Male: 1st Gareth Pinkney, 2nd Paul Jenkins, 3rd Grant Elliot

Jnr Male: Joshua Rice

Long Course (2 laps, 12kms)

Elite Men:

1st Tom Shilperoort, 2nd Dawid Mocke, 3rd Brandon van der Walt, 4th Graeme Solomon, 5th Kenny Rice

Elite Women:

1st Nikki Mocke, 2nd Kim van Gysen, 3rd Kirsten Flanagan, 4th Anna Notten, 5th Samantha Murray

Jnr Men:

1st Kenny Rice, 2nd Nicholas Notten, 3rd Mark Keeling

Jnr Girls:

1st Kirsten Flanagan, 2nd Jodi Cleworth

Vets Male:

1st Graeme Solomon, 2nd Paul Marais, 3rd Eugene van der Westhuizen

Master Male:

1st Mike Schwan, 2nd Anton Holtzhausen, 3rd Paul Lange

Master Ladies:

1st Gill Anderson, 2nd Ashley Barnes